JavaScript is not enabled.
All our things burned in a truck fire - Review by Guest | All State Van Lines Relocation, Inc.

All State Van Lines Relocation, Inc.


All our things burned in a truck fire 12/31/2012

All State Van Lines Relocation, Inc, RELO, and United Transport Logistics are names of moving companies my wife and I will never, ever forget. We contracted with All State, which subcontracted with RELO (unbeknownst to us), which subcontracted with United Transport Logistics (unbeknownst to us) to move all the contents of our house as well as a motorcycle from Atlanta to San Diego. They: 1) arrived four days late to pick up; 2) never asked about access to our driveway, knocked down power lines nearby, and were not able to navigate the driveway and therefore had to rent another truck to transport our items to their trucked parked nearby, at our expense; 3) were not helpful on the phone any time we called to inquire about the status of delivery, routinely processing more than they were able to deliver; 4) and were four days past our “guaranteed” window of delivery when a representative called with a curt, “I’m sorry to tell your this, but your truck caught fire, and all your things were burned beyond recognition. A claims representative will be in touch with you to discuss further.” No one ever called. I called and tried to gain information about the company to register a formal complaint and was stopped at every turn. Through our own inquiries and with NO help from any of these companies, we were able to determine the location of the fire and where our things were housed in a salvage yard. We flew there at our own cost and recovered some personal effects, pictures, scrapbooks, etc. And, we’ve been told repeatedly by the salvage yard that the truck driver attempted to: 1) rent another truck after the fire to still deliver our destroyed items, and 2) take the motorcycle by stating that I had given him permission to take the bike. That is completely FALSE. I caution you DO NOT, under any circumstances, give business to any of these three companies. The customer service, not to mention the horrific outcome we’ve had to deal with and are still dealing with, is deplorable. more
Owner response
Owner response 1/16/2013
All State Van Lines Relocation wishes to express regret in hearing of your reported delays and losses suffered. Our team has reviewed your posting and located your account. This will serve as a formal response to your issue. As the moving industry is one which is vulnerable and prone to last minute changes, our contracts are drafted with this in mind as stated in the Terms & Conditions included in the documentation you received during your booking process. All dates requested are estimates and are picked up and delivered within reasonable dispatch and reasonable time. We make every effort in performing our customers' moves within the requested moving dates as contracted and try to accommodate our customers despite circumstances that occur beyond our control but unfortunately at times our efforts prove futile. If we are unable to render services within the estimated date, our customers can either accept an offer to be picked up at a later date which we ensure is convenient for them or they have the right to a full refund of their deposit if they decide to services. Your account indicates that you allowed the movers to load your belongings on 11/30/2012. In regards to the shuttle charges, our records indicate that a Quality Assurance representative contacted you and inquired about a semi truck being accessible at both the pick up and delivery location and you informed him that the truck could gain access. A truck was sent to your home based on the information you provided us. Given the fact that a semi truck was in actuality not accessible you were therefore charged for shuttle usage. Please be advised that the written agreement states once extra services are rendered, you will automatically incur additional fees. Your account indicates that this was explained to you by a customer service representative from our office and you stated that you fully understood why a shuttle was needed and agreed to render payment once the movers arrived. Please be aware that all charges that you were informed of were valid and we made no attempts to charge you incorrectly. As it relates to your losses due to the unfortunate mishap which occurred causing a major loss of your belongings, our office is fully aware of this and we are currently making every effort to resolve the matter at hand. Please be advised that you hired our company as your moving coordinator/shipper agent/broker and not to handle or otherwise participate in your move as a carrier, therefore our company is not responsible for any property damage and personal injury or death. This information can be located in the Terms & Conditions that was provided prior to the execution of your relocation. We notice that our office has been in contact with you regarding this matter and so far your deposit made to reserve your move was refunded to the credit card on file as well as additional compensation for inconvenient expenses you incurred. We definitely appreciate your patience thus far. Our office currently awaits a copy of the police report, once this is received you will be notified of any further action that will be taken in resolution. Once again, the team at All State Van Lines Relocation sincerely apologizes for such devastating loss and inconvenience. Should you have any questions in regards to this response you may contact our office at your earliest convenience. Sincerely, All State Van Lines Relocation
20% OFF all yearly plans
Use spring at checkout. Expires 6/30/2018