JavaScript is not enabled.
The Modern Matchmaker Inc. - 29 Reviews - 5725 Forward Ave 401, Pittsburgh, PA - Other Professional Services Reviews - Phone (412) 521-3747

The Modern Matchmaker Inc.

Claim
marker
5725 Forward Ave 401
Suite 225
Pittsburgh, PA 15217
marker
(412) 521-3747
Incorrect info? Correct your listing

Main categories:

Other Professional Services

Related categories:

Reviews

( 12 )
( 0 )
( 0 )
( 0 )
( 17 )

Best

The Modern Matchmaker is a wonderful dating service. Susan is very professional, knowledgeable and passionate about putting the right people together. She has taken the time to ...

Worst

Don't waste your time or money.

Scam 2/8/2018

Don't waste your time or money. more

Highly Recommended 12/19/2017

The Modern Matchmaker is a wonderful dating service. Susan is very professional, knowledgeable and passionate about putting the right people together. She has taken the time to get to know me and what I am looking for. She has an amazing pool of potential dates and has matched me with some great guys! Well worth the investment! more

Wait... 9/16/2017

So, the staff is reaching out and encouraging people to join again? What about current, paid-in-full clients? Nothing professional to see here. more
Owner response
Owner response 11/10/2017
We are always working on behalf of our current paid clients and are successful in matching clients with realistic expectations that follow our business model. Most clients do not need to renew their membership, but it is standard business practice to reach to the few that do.

Anonymous 8/11/2017

I used the service twice, 7 years ago and recently. The first time I met great people but nothing clicked. This time my first date was a perfect match and we have been together for nine months, having a wonderful life together. I am very grateful to the staff for reaching out to me and encouraging me to join again, and for the professional way in which they serve their clients. more
Owner response
Owner response 11/10/2017
We are happy to hear that things are going so well! Thank you for your kind words.

The Modern Matchmaker Inc. 8/1/2017

From my experience, I am pleased to offer a highly positive recommendation for The Modern Matchmaker and its services. The owner, Susan Dunhoff, takes a personal interest in each of her clients. She and her staff do an excellent job of identifying and recommending meaningful matches. Through their efforts, I have had the opportunity to meet several attractive and interesting women. As stated, I am most pleased with the attention and service that I have received from The Modern Matchmaker. more
Owner response
Owner response 8/2/2017
Thank you for your kind words! We work hard to ensure we are providing meaningful matches to our clients and an exceptional experience from start to finish.

Buyer beware. 7/28/2017

Major disappointment. Cannot get your money back. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/31/2017
Thank you for your feedback- please reach out to the team at (412) 521-3747 with any questions you have so we can continue this conversation to ensure your concerns are addressed.

Professional and courteous 7/28/2017

Susan is great to work with and very helpful! She cares about her business and it shows. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/31/2017
Glad to hear it! We love hearing that you had a positive experience with us.

A great experience! 7/26/2017

Susan and her team listen to your interests and are thoughtful to providing you a successful match! Be honest and communicate and you will be very pleased! Holly more
Owner response
Owner response 7/31/2017
Holly, thank you for your feedback! We pride ourselves in providing our clients with the best results we can produce, and we appreciate your honesty and communication throughout the entire process.

Proprietary algorithms? 7/17/2017

Pretty sure Michael M. from the South Side actually goes by Susan D. Not fooling anyone. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/31/2017
We can assure you all of our reviews are authentic and are a result of multiple clients experiences in working with us.

TMM 7/11/2017

TMM is a professional organization that utilizes proprietary algorithms to find your best matches. Susan personally interviews candidates and directly screens potential matches before calling you and explaining her rationale. She works tirelessly to find the best person for you, as she did for me. (Michael M. South Side) more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
We are thrilled to hear that you are happy with your personalized match, and appreciate your support and kind words!

Nope. 7/7/2017

The review on 6/29/17 was written by a person whose widowed friend has recently used the service with great success. How nice. This random person sure does seem to know a whole lot about what’s going on behind the scenes at The Modern Matchmaker though. That's interesting. Not questionable at all. No doubt that review is legitimate. Maybe this means that I will be hearing from Susan with a great match for me very soon. It’s only been years. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
All of our reviews are legitimate, and we match any client that is reasonably realistic. We apologize for your frustration and would be happy to discuss any concerns you may have: 412-521-3747

Happy Client In Love 7/1/2017

The Modern Matchmaker has changed my life! Susan Dunhoff is a pleasure to work with. If it wasn't for her, I would have never met the love of my life. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
Thank you for your response! We are so happy we could help you find your perfect match with us.

Disgruntled ex-employee smearing this wonderful company 6/29/2017

There are several extremely negative comments posted here, that were put up by two disgruntled ex-employees. One in 2014 who actually tried to steal Susan's business from her while she was recuperating from open heart surgery, and the other recently who left Susan for another job without any notice. Her reason for leaving was that she wanted significantly more money than her position qualified her for. Susan has been a wonderful matchmaker for many years and recently matched a widowed friend of mine with a great match! Please ignore those smear campaign posts and give Susan a chance; I'm sure you'll be very happy with the results! more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
Thank you for the kind words - happy to hear that our matchmaking process was a great success for your friend!

Might as well consider your $2500 payment a donation... 6/16/2017

I think it's safe to say that the gleaming 5-star reviews on here are just as fake as The Modern Matchmaker. Your money will disappear and so will Susan. Then, when you will inevitably want some answers, she will be curt and blame you for things not working out. I've met a few others out there who have had the same negative experience. Save your money. And, take yourself out in public to meet people in the real world. Maybe you'll meet a match. Maybe you won't. But, at least you'll be able to buy yourself a really nice dinner...and a movie...and a vacation for that matter. Do not make this donation. You will be sorry. I am. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
We apologize for your dissatisfaction with our services, but we can assure you that we hand-pick matches for each client based on your unique needs. We aim to provide nothing less than exceptional service and to save you time and energy in the process. We are sincerely sorry you do not feel that way. If you have an additional questions, we'd be happy to talk: 412-521-3747

were you set up with a doctor 3/20/2016

Susan uses a friend of hers who is a doctor from the South of pgh. to go out with women, so she can tick off one of the 12 dates on a woman's list. He gets free matchmaking service in return. If you want out with a doctor on one or two dates - it was a joke. Scam. more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
We can assure you that we hand-pick matches for each and every one of our clients based on their unique and specific needs.

Great Service! 11/16/2014

Hi, I am writing to tell you that I am very happy and pleased with TMM and the service that Susan an her staff provides its clients, and have provided to me. Susan and her staff promptly return phone calls and e-mail messages, take the time to discuss my desired traits of woman that I wish to date, and have provided me with many profiles to view and consider along those lines. But what I like best is the personal service and suggestions that Susan made after we met and spoke a few times. It was as if she knew me as well as I did! The woman that I have dated have all been interesting, classy, and someone that I was pleased to meet. I am certain that I am going to meet the "right one" very soon. I also love the one on one interaction with Susan and Brandee - no question is balked at - and I appreciate their truthful responses. So I am confused by some of the negative reviews that TMM has received. My personal experience has been that Susan and Brandee work hard on my behalf, and all of their clients. They is so positive, but realistic! And I found the contract with TMM to be advantageous in that I was promised at least 12 dates in one year, or the time would be extended until I received twelve dates. I could also receive as many dates as I wished in one year, whether they exceed twelve dates or not, so long as they were available, and the other person agrees to meet me. Additionally, if I meet someone and decide to enter into a relationship with them, whether through TMM or not, I can suspend my membership and save the unused time for later if things don't work out. And I have to accept TMM's proposed date or it doesn't count against my total. I also have the comfort of knowing that the woman that I am going out with does not have hidden issues such as a drug habit, criminal record, or other such undesirable traits. And all of this is confidential. In closing, you just can't please some people. I would highly recommend TMM and would urge you to speak with Susan and her staff! Bob more
Owner response
Owner response 7/13/2017
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you had a positive experience with us, and appreciate the feedback.

Wrong - insecurities can be your worst enemy 7/30/2014

If you are considering signing up with Susan, do not be alarmed. She, and her staff are wonderful! Im taking a moment out of my busy day to say that it does not take a genius to see right thru these negative reviews. Obviously written by one of two types of people, the insecure/offended, and the cheapskate. Being someone in the public eye, I can tell you that when you conduct a business that is subjective to others feedback, and opinions of you, your personality, and physical being, its natural for people who are denied by someone, or in this case "not easily matchable" to be hurt and become defensive. Trust me, it happens to the best of us. The other type to consider is the cheapskate. The folks that have buyers remorse because they are outside of their realistic comfort zone financially, or who have maybe met someone out of the blue on their own while contracted and now want their money back. Makes perfect sense how out of all the walks of life that are out there, this style of business can be easily attacked. Ive been with Susan for a little while now, and we actively communicate. She is going above and beyond to assist me in this journey. She is a doll, and as a girl, I trust her, and value her opinion. more

Definitely check out Complaints filed to Better Business Bureau 5/3/2014

Here's an example of a complaint filed against her to the BBB... it sums up accurately the experience of most women who deal with this scam artist: "I signed a contract with The Modern Matchmaker over 1 year ago. It was quite expensive.$2500 for 12 months. I was emailed a few photos within the first 60-90 days. None of which were appealing nor within the age range I requested but I agreed to meet 2. Neither of those first meets generated an interest on my part. In fact, the 2nd one was more than 14 yrs older than me. I truly believe there are very few men in the Matchmaker's pool and if I knew that going in , I would not have signed a contract. I might as well have donated the $. I got nothing out of the experience but false hope and was led to believe there were viable matches. If I had checked the Better Business Bureau before I signed, the contract, I would have seen several complaints and saved the $. Very dissatisfied with the service. I only hope that someone will read this complaint and not waste their hard earned $ on this "service" or "lack of service"." more

Dont fall for the lies. 4/4/2014

If you read about this service you'll understand why you just shouldn't do it. Her service is completely set up to make money, and that's Susan Dunhoff's main goal. Consider yourself lucky that you met your "perfect match" on your first date, because most likely you wouldn't have otherwise. Talk to any of her clients and they'll tell you the same thing: countless dates, and no real service. Also, look into her turn over rate, people simply don't want to work for this woman. There is no motive here, just upset clients that are using their first amendment rights. This leads me to think that the below review was set up, not true, or Susan herself. JUST DON'T DO IT! SAVE YOUR MONEY! more

Best service ever 4/2/2014

I can't fathom what those bad reviewers were saying and presume they've got some agenda beyond reviewing Susan's work. She and her team were very professional and wonderful to work with, and thanks to her system and highly suitable clientele she's assembled, I found the love of my life in my very first match. After countless bad dates from eHarmony, I never imagined that the first gent she sent my way would be everything I'd ever wanted. Thank you Susan for making me a very happy gal! more
< Previous 1 2 Next >
SUMMER SALE!!!:
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use year15 at checkout. Expires 9/30/2018

The Modern Matchmaker will find you your perfect match

Additional information

  • Neighborhoods:

badge