JavaScript is not enabled.
Candi Johns Salon - 9 Reviews - 141 E Meadow Dr, Vail, CO - Beauty Salons Reviews - Phone (970) 476-5908

Candi Johns Salon

141 E Meadow Dr
Vail, CO 81657
(970) 476-5908
Incorrect info? Correct your listing

Main categories:

Personal Care , Beauty Salons , Weddings

Related categories:

Retail Shopping , Events


( 3 )
( 1 )
( 1 )
( 0 )
( 4 )


Candi has been doing my hair for over 5 years and has me looking amazing after every appointment! And, she is very quick so I waste no time in the salon and am outside again in u...


If I could give this zero stars I would. Absolutely worst most horrifying experience I have ever had at a salon. I was in Vail for my cousin's wedding and made an appointment to h...

Editorial review from Citysearch 10/19/2013

Horrible salon. It seems to be a one person owned business. Candi John is a bitter woman who does not care about people's hair. We made an appointment for the bride and three more women. She handled all of our hair in 40 minutes. She was rude and demanded more money than she originally quoted. Her idea of the bridal hair style consisted of just clipping half of the hair with bobby pins in the back. I think she should be gone out of business. No customer service whatsoever. Not even a tiny smile. more

Knowledgeable and confident! 12/28/2011

I started having Candi do my hair a few months ago. The first time I came in, my hair was a color mess. She consulted with me, really wanting to understand what I wanted the end result to be. She discussed a couple of different options with me. I knew it would take some time to get my hair back to a healthy state. I was impressed with what she was able to do in just 1 appointment. I was excited that my hair turned out as good as it did. It wasn't overprocessed like I expected but it's now soft and easy to work with once again. more

Best value in town! 12/26/2011

Candi has been doing my hair for over 5 years and has me looking amazing after every appointment! And, she is very quick so I waste no time in the salon and am outside again in under 2 hours for a cut and a highlight. My mom and all her friends who vacation here always book an appointment with her as soon as they arrive. Her assistant, Liz, is always very helpful and a joy to be around - makes the time spent there so much fun! Don't miss out on this place if you are visiting from out of town - their wash and blow drys are fabulous! more

Response to review written below 12/26/2011

We apologize for the address confusion - it is correct on our website but not with google - we have tried several times to get it changed. I would not have had to add volume to your hair by teasing it if you had not asked me to discount my price from my normal $85 to $65 as you said you did not want the hot rollers put in your hair - thus that is part of the process for a standard up-do/french twist. I also added at least 10 extra pins to your hair as you requested. I do about 40-50 weddings each summer here and have not had any dissatisfied customers to date so I am sorry that this happened. I have been in business here in Vail for the last 11 years. However, you did willingly add a 15% tip on your credit card slip so I am not sure what happened when you left the salon - maybe it got caught when you were getting changed? You were the last appointment of the day so we apologize we closed after that as we do every Saturday. We would love the chance to make it right so let us know what we can do. more

Worst salon experience ever. 11/1/2011

If I could give this zero stars I would. Absolutely worst most horrifying experience I have ever had at a salon. I was in Vail for my cousin's wedding and made an appointment to have an updo done the day of. I followed the directions to the address on the website and was unable to find the salon - I called the number and she told me that address was wrong. When I tried to mention that their website still had that old address she was very rude to me, almost as if it was my fault I was running a bit late because they had the address listed incorrectly.\r \r When I arrived, I said I just wanted a very simple french twist, very sleek and smooth (and had told them this exact updo that I wanted when making the appt a month earlier). The first time she started doing my hair she combed it down to give it volume and left it looking like a bird's nest while she tried to twist it. I asked if she could make it more smooth, it looked like a mess, and I could pratically feel her eyes rolling behind me as she took it out to re-do it. After a few times (which I thought was strange for a simple french twist) I was satisfied and asked if she could put a ton of pins in it as I'd be dancing all night - a request she obviously ignored. \r \r I got picked up from the salon, drove three feet away and the entire updo fell out completely. In a panic now since the wedding was starting shortly, I drove back to have her fix it again and they had locked up shop already since Saturday's are by appointment only. I called and left a voicemail asking someone to please contact me within 30 minutes to fix the mess they just left me with that I paid $75 for. \r \r No one ever returned my calls. I ended up going back to my hotel, having my cousin fix my hair, and was out $70 for nothing. I figured the least they could do was refund my credit card so I left a message asking for her to let me know how to go about being refunded and again no one ever returned my calls. I ended up having to contact my credit card company and put a stop on the charge. It nearly ruined what should have been an amazing day with my family. I cringe to think what they are capable of doing with something that's not reversable, like a bad haircut. Avoid this place at all costs. more

Gossip and Foul language 1/5/2011

Receptionist was rude and abrupt. I felt rushed and was pretty tired of hearing about their nights out partying. They didn't pay any attention to clients, only themselves. Poor customer service. Not very professional. Place didn't feel clean. Wouldn't go back. more

trashiest salon ever 10/12/2010

The woman I spoke with on the phone to make an appointment was very pushy, rude, and sarcastic (what a great first impression). I have friends who also have said the same thing and dealt with the same rudeness. When it comes to customer service they seriously lack in that department and I'd rather take my business elsewhere. more

Rude and Tacky 9/3/2008

Very rude, sloppy, tacky and don't seem to care because they are the only salon in the town of Vail, yet there are so many in other areas. I'm sure some of the girls there are fine, but unfortunately we may never know it. Candi John herself is very brash and thinks she's so great yet when ratings come out for the Vail and Aspen area's and the state for that matter, her salon is never listed yet others in the Vail Valley and Aspen area's are. Bliss and Salon Axis are the places to go because they care about you and aren't rude and rushing you all of the time. CJ's wants to be some hot, hip Manhattan or Beverly Hill's Salon, but try small town trash feel instead. Ouch Pros: If you can't leave Vail, it's the only game in town. Cons: If you can't leave Vail, it's the only game in town. more

Busy, not very personal. 4/23/2008

I wnet for the off season special to get full highlights and a trim. She pulled it all off in just under an hour. I wanted to be more blond and came out still brunette. I felt rushed the whole time, wasn't offered a drink or anything, and she worked on another person while my color was setting. Then I was charged about $200 for the ""off season, local's special"". For a great color and service, sure. For the wrong color and bad service, no way. I wouldn't go here again. I am a concierge agent also and told her so. I didn't want extra special treatment, but a little time and attention would have been nice. That's part of the salon experience! more

Best color! Favorite cut! 1/14/2008

Susan was recommended to me by a client of hers from Denver so I visited her for a much needed cut and color. She was fantastic and I've never been so happy with my hair. She helped me get the look I've been trying to get but couldn't. I highly recommend stopping in and seeing her. She's awesome and I'm so glad she's living back in the valley. Pros: Perfect cut and so sweet Cons: can't wait for the new space more
< Previous 1 Next >
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use YEAR15 at checkout. Expires 11/30/2017