JavaScript is not enabled.
5 Star Moving & Storage - 36 Reviews - 11 South 25th St Suite 235, Colorado Springs, CO - Rental & Leasing Business Equip Reviews - Phone (719) 227-7755

5 Star Moving & Storage

11 South 25th St Suite 235
Colorado Springs, CO 80904
(719) 227-7755
Incorrect info? Correct your listing


5 Star Moving & Storage - Colorado Springs, CO


( 25 )
( 4 )
( 0 )
( 2 )
( 5 )


My husband and I used 5 Star Moving and Storage for a local move in Colorado Springs on February 2nd, 2013. From the very start they were courteous and professional. I was nervo...


First, the owner quoted me a rate that she had no idea how much stuff I had - basically under quoted me knowing it was by the hour and she would get paid. The move didn't get fin...

Very disappointed. I chose the wrong company! 9/6/2013

As I was planning my move I spoke w/several moving companies. I was impressed w/the woman at 5 Star as she was very kind and she took the time to go over a detailed list of all the items I would be moving. She recommended 3 men which I agreed to and she estimated my move to be around 6 hours. The day of the move the movers had to call for directions to my house which did not seem professional to me. They also had to call--twice for directions to the new house. I understand that wrapping everything takes time but it took from 10:45 'til after 4:00 to get loaded. At one point they told me they couldn't get everything on the truck and would need to make 2 trips. I was not about to allow that as the dollars were adding up. The most disturbing thing that happened was that the movers wrapped my 10 drawer heavy dresser w/the drawers in it and then attempted to carry it down a flight of stairs. In the process they put a hole in my wall and they were moaning ahd screaming trying to get the dresser down. I had to leave the room. They then used my spakling to patch the hole and I had to finish the repair and paint the wall. My moving estimate was $690.00. The move actually cost me over $1,400.00!!. I would not recommend 5 Star to anyone. In fact most people I have told about the dresser incident said they would have fired them on the spot. That sounds appropriate but then I wouldn't have gotten moved. I felt trapped. Service Information Reference No:W497170 Representative:Mike Move Type:Residential, 22 miles Estimated Volume:975 cf. (6825 lbs) Requ. Date of Move: 08/30/2013 09:00 AM Created on:08/05/2013 Service Quote 1 Truck 3 Men, 6.0 hrs, $115.00 hrs$690.00 Travel Time: $0.00 Actual time only from warehouse (4 hr minimum)$0.01 10% fuel surcharge on total bill$0.01 packing materials additional and upon request$0.01 Total Moving Quote$690.03 Customer Payment:$100.00 RESPONSE FROM 5 Star Moving & Storage: I am very sorry (anytime!) we hear of a move not going as expected. It is quite often that if the physical aspects of a move change, often the price of a move will also as it is charged by the hour. I am surprised and disappointed to hear that the men may have been able to be more efficient than they were for you. We strive at every turn to be as accurate as possible and do also try to account for the inevitable list of unknown items that appear in many customers homes that we are unaware of. I am glad to hear that the large oversize dresser made it out and without damage and that the men were able to repair the small hole in your drywall that occurred from maneuvering a 350 lb piece down a steep staircase. We had hoped that the offer of refund would help in a bad experience that we at this point can not take back. We understand that a monetary offer does not make up or eradicate the experience, but it is our only avenue to make things right at the end of the day. As I am sure you understand that things do not always go as they should, and oftentimes it is the measure of a company on how they handle their problems when the inevitably do arise. We understand completely that you are not happy with our offer, and at the end of the day only wish you the very best in your new home, and appreciate the opportunity to become a better company in the end. more

Worst Experience EVER!!! 7/2/2013

I used this company 3 weeks ago and I am so disappointed with the service. They ripped my couch, scratched my banister up and left scratches all over my walls and door. The removal guys were filthy and smelt awful and this was before they started to lift anything. They were slow and turned up to my house without the proper tools to break the furniture down. I then complained to the Sales Manager Melysa and this is what she sent to me during the exchanges via email: No disrespect intended, but research or no, accidents happen. I don't believe that is fair. We are a good company who care very much for our customers. We also have good guys who are human beings. If you can find a mover ANYWHERE that hasn't had a damage claim, or an accident happen please let me know, because I would like to go into business with them ;0) Your company ruins my furniture and thats what you say to me. So unprofessional!!!! Don't waste your money, they might sound affordable but it will cost you more in the long run, as you will be replacing your damaged items out of your own pocket. If you value your furniture go elsewhere. RESPONSE FROM 5 Star Moving & Storage: Dear Mrs. Doe, We're sincerely sorry you feel this way. Customer service has always been our number 1 priority. I know that we have tried our very best to get the damage to your sofa handled but unfortunately cannot seem to make our inability to purchase you a new sofa due to scratches work for you. I hate to hear that you were dissatisfied with any aspect of your move! When our customers are not satisfied, I am not satisfied. After almost 7 years we had hoped that by offering our customers' the option of us paying to have your damage repaired and get you back to where you started before the unfortunate damages occurred we could at least alleviate some of the distress the movers seem to have unduly caused. I understand we cannot eliminate the experience once it has happened. Apparently, we have more work to do on that front. Meanwhile, we appreciate your business and don't want to lose you as a customer. If you change your mind about allowing us to take care of the issue please let us know! Sincerely, Christopher Jay V.P. Operations more

Horrible experience! 6/11/2013

We booked our out of state move 2 months out and when it came down to 48 hrs before the first pick up date we were told this would be extended to from 2-3 more days approx 48 hours before they were to arrive and pick up. Our house was packed and we had a new job to start that next week, not to mention multiple other appointments and deadlines based on this move. We agreed and started waiting until Tuesday. Everyone at 5 Star left for the Holiday weekend and we were not contacted or able to make contact until the following Tuesday. Monday night rolled around and still no call from the movers in regards to what we could expect the following day. We ended calling first thing Tuesday to see if they were still coming and what time we might expect them and were told that the movers wouldnt be coming until later that day from 1-3pm. We were left waiting again. 2:45 rolled around and still no one, so we called again to see what was going on and were told they would be another 30 minutes late. What ended up happening is that 5 Star was going to (unknowingly to my husband and I) send out their personal set of 3 guys ( very unprofessional) and very small moving truck to take our belongings back to their warehouse. These 3 young men went on to tell us how "dumb" it was to take our stuff back there and then theyd be moving it around again when a driver from Arpin Van Line showed up and could actually load our belongings to be moved to Texas. We did not let them to take our belongings in fear of how they might be treated and how long we might actually go without everything. We honestly had no idea what was going on at this point and this seemed to be the best thing we could do. We ended up left with little to no options. 5 Star took it upon themselves to call and accuse us of multiple wrongs, seemed unapologetic and offered no help. We felt they were unorganized and the customer service was below par. DONT USE THEM is the only thing I can recommend! more

Great job! They were on time, very courteous and professional. I would definately recommend this company. 2/6/2013

My husband and I used 5 Star Moving and Storage for a local move in Colorado Springs on February 2nd, 2013. From the very start they were courteous and professional. I was nervous because we had a bad experience with a larger moving company in August of 2012 when we moved from Virginia to Colorado. Aubra was great! She answered all of my questions, and put me at ease right away. On moving day the four man team and truck arrived practically on the dot of the scheduled arrival time. They did a great job loading and unloading the truck. This was by far the least stressful move I have ever had, I highly recommend 5 Star Moving. Thanks Aubra and Melysa!! more

Great customer service. On time, smooth operation, great price. 12/7/2012

A friend was hospitalized and we needed to move her belongings and home furnishings into storage. The folks at 5-Star adjusted their schedule to accommodate our last minute move. Their rates beat their competition, the guys were friendly, professional and on-time. I would highly recommend their service! Thank you 5-Star for making a difficult situation so much easier to manage! Colleen G. - Colorado Springs more

Extremely satisfied! 10/16/2012

Excellent job! Very impressed from the first call to the last dollar paid. Will use again and will recommend. more

great move 9/5/2012

I've worked with a lot of moving companies and 5 Star's team is a real pro outfit. My team worked seamlessly together on moving day and came up with creative solutions ot challenges. Everythiing arrived with very little damage. more

Aweful Experience 8/6/2012

What a terrible experience. We hired 5 Star Moving & Storage for our move from Colorado Springs to Fort Collins. Initially, they were great to deal with, but when it came time for the actual move, everything went down hill. Our 2 bedroom 1200 sq foot move (plus garage) was estimated at 3 hours of packing on the first day and 6 hours of move time on the next with 2 people both days. Note that our place was no where near full - to the point where one of the bedrooms only had a very small computer desk. When the packers came, they told us it would most likely take 13 hours for the next day, not the 6 we were estimated (we pay hourly). Additionally, they said it would be very beneficial to add a third mover, which we did. On moving day, they did a pretty good job of quickly loading the truck, until they found out that all of our stuff wouldn't fit on it. They brought too small of a truck to carry everything; a good part of the garage as well as some smaller items from inside the house. The moving crew was unable to get in touch with anyone to mitigate the problem - whether it was sending another truck, renting a trailer, etc. The first business day after the move, I contacted their main office - I have been dealing with a lady named Aubra. She was incredibly rude and defensive; blaming us for the problem by saying we underestimated the amount of stuff we have. Again, remember that one of the bedrooms in a 2 bedroom was essentially empty. She said I had told her we only had 10 boxes worth of stuff, which I would have NEVER said, especially since we were shopping around for 60-80 box moving kits. Aubra called back a few minutes later after talking to the foreman of the move. She told us that he had informed us that we would most likely need another truck or they wouldn't be able to bring all of our stuff. This is simply untrue. We were told about the need for an additional person, which we agreed to pretty quickly. If we had known our stuff wouldn't fit, we would have absolutely tried to find a solution before moving day. I simply will never use this company again, and advise anyone else to shop elsewhere. This has been by far the worst experience I've had moving, and will now have to rent my own trailer or truck to get the rest of my stuff to my new home. more

Great!! 8/3/2012

I had a very positive moving experience. Rob and Jay were my movers and they couldn't have been more pleasant to interact with. They were friendly, courteous, efficient, professional and helpful, so I just want to give them a big thumbs up!! I've already recommended your business to 4 of my ex-neighbors that I know will be moving in a few months. If I ever move again, I'll definitely use your professionals! more

Movers are great, but the estimate was way low of final price 5/25/2012

Movers were fantastic...very careful with our furniture and careful not to hurt the house. Make sure, however, you fully understand all of the extras in the final price (so that you can help yourself to calculate the final cost). Our final cost was 30-40 higher than what we expected...mostly due to the extras. more

Great Job! Very Professional. 2/23/2012

Chris and his team did a wonderful job. They were professional, courteous, hard working, and payed attention to detail. more

John Moore 10/13/2011

Felicia, I wanted to let you know that the three men you sent out were OUTSTANDING.. I was a little worried due to a BAD experience I had with another moving company, when I relocated up to Pueblo from Texas last year. That moving company was terrible. You and the men that moved me, made this move so easy and enjoyable. They introduced themselves when they arrived that morning. They were very pleasant, professional and took great care of my property. I would recommend 5 Star Moving to anyone. Please let the owners of the company know that they did great job. If and when I move again you are definitely my moving company. Thanks so much for a wonderful moving experience. more

Highly recommend because of excellent service and great price. 9/30/2011

You inquired how my relocation went, it went extremely well. Horror stories abound regarding moving companies so I checked your history with the Better Business Bureau. You can be proud of, and I will endorse, you rating with them. Punctuality is less than common with movers; your crew is an exception to that rule as they were waiting for me when I arrived early at the loading site. After offering time-saving suggestions the crew of Tim, Brian, Lee J and Nik quickly and safely loaded the trucks. They even helped me load my SUV with the items they werent allowed to pack in their trucks. Soon after arriving at our destination the crew was carefully placing my belongings in each room as directed by my wife. Occasionally, after second thoughts, a box would need relocating to a different room. Such requests were met with a smile and a, No problem. If asked to recommend a moving company I will recommend 5 Stare Moving and Storage without hesitation. No surprises, the final bill was as estimated, a great crew and not one piece of furniture or wall damaged, what more could you ask for? Russ Grosch, 719.539.8549 more

Really bad experience!!! 9/7/2011

First, the owner quoted me a rate that she had no idea how much stuff I had - basically under quoted me knowing it was by the hour and she would get paid. The move didn't get finished and I had to go back the next day myself to finsih the job - so they got paid for a job that took double the time and it wasn't finished. They broke my desk and wouldn't you know it - it isn't covered!! The supervisor on the job left a message for the owner and she didn't get back with me - I had to call a week later to see how she was going to help compensate the difference and my broken desk - was very rude and unprofessional. Beware!! I wouldn't recommended them to ANYONE!!!! RESPONSE FROM 5 Star Moving & Storage: This is a confusing review for us. Ms. Hasek spoke with a manager yesterday about the damaged desk and was assured that it certainly was indeed covered and we only requested pictures of the damage. Also- as a professional mover, it is our job to quote correctly based upon the information given. This means that if the info we are given is misrepresented, so to will the estimate. Unfortunately, this is the case with Ms. Hasek's relocation. Much of this review is someone's assumptionon how this company operates, not nessesarily the truth. Stating that "we don't care, because we know we will get paid" is quite a leading, and personal statement, as well as an unfounded assumption. We are doing our best to immidietley address our customer's damamged desk. more

Horrible ownership/managment. Exremely unprofessional, inappropriate, and does not support Military. 7/13/2011

I did a local move with this company and had a terrilbe experience. The movers were late, they did not properly disassemble my furniture which is why I didnt let them reassemble it. They took FREQUENT breaks. They used absolutely rediculous amounts of bubble wrap and tape to which they charge you $1/ft and $4/roll. The management gave me an estimate which turned out to be half of what the actual cost and time was. Prior to them coming I moved 3 of the 6 rooms myself, literally cutting their work in half and it still took twice longer than estimated. When I went back to the old house to clean I saw they forgot several major items. In addition knowing this was a military move they failed to weigh the truck before and after the move, which is standard practice for any experienced moving company affiliated with the military. I called to inquire about this and was told dont worry they will take care of it. After a week of no response I called and got told its just my problem and if I wanted I could rehire them to come repack my things and then weigh it again. Absolutely rediculous. So now I am not able to get reimbursed for these horrendous charges. Again I was told that's my problem and hung up on. When I called back I repeatedly was hung up on BY THE OWNER and had the police called on me claiming harassment charges. When the police called me before even asking me my side of the story they highly recommended that I file a formal complaint against this unethical company. This isnt the first time. Dont trust their estimate, dont trust their movers (it was 2 of their "first day" just some random kids off the street). Once they get your money you can hang it up. This is not the service I expect to war vertrans just returning from Iraq. The "owner" even refused to let me speak the the initial women who was trying to help me. She stated Im not doing anything for free and I can refuse service to anyone....well I paid for your so-called service. When the packer was on the phone to verify my credit card informatoin the first thing she asked him was how much money in materials did they charge, proceeded by a GREAT JOB! Scammers. RESPONSE FROM 5 Star Moving & Storage: Well, there comes a time when owning and managing a business where we get a customer that just cannot be made happy. And with 5 Star Moving being Family owned and operated- this can be very damaging as we do many refferal jobs. Not to mention how terrible it feels to have an unhappy customer. In Mr. Burns particular case there was only one point of misunderstanding-the weighing of a shipment. As a local mover who does MANY military relocations locally, I will professionly attest that NO Local mover weighs a local military shipment. The only time that we would do that would be at customer request. And at that-we have never recieved that request in 15 years :0) Mr. Burns contacted us almost a week later asking for weight scales that where never requested. When the conversation with Mr. Burns went nowhere, he got heated and he began to randomly make things up attempting to coerce us to do a job for free. When we got tothe point of knowing that it was going nowhere- we had to let him go from the phone. He then began harassing the office- calling repeatedly and yelling. We at 5 Star Moving have never had to contact the police on a customer, but office staff were concerned for their safety. We would certainly love the opportunity to make things right with Mr. Burns. However, based on this review that is filled with everything from slanderous coments,to downright untruths, we feel the best thing at this point is to move forward and keep doing what we do. And that is to do stellar work and do our best to handle problems as they arise. We also welcome direct questions from our possible customers in the future about this situation,as we have never dealt with it the past,and is a bit of an unusual situation. more

Great Work! Made our office move seem easy! 6/29/2011

Our company was downsizing and we needed to close a satellite office quickly. 5 Star Moving and Storage was the only company that responded quickly with the best rates and a professional quote. 5 Star also worked around our schedule, did not ask us to make concessions to fit their needs and did not turn us down because of the short notice we provided. 5 Stars staff maintained communication with me until the move and even notified the morning of our move to confirm that we were still on schedule. The level of customer service prior to the move was top notch. When the movers arrived, all were dressed in company attire; all were professional and courteous. Before the movers began they discussed the details about all items, such as certain items going to one location and other items going to another and how to load the truck for the most efficient use of time and resources. The movers were very careful with all of our items and took whatever measures were necessary to help ensure our materials arrived safely at their destination. I would recommend 5 Star Moving and Storage to any individual or company that is looking to relocate. Their staff was courteous, professional, punctual and driven by customer satisfaction. I had a tremendous experience with this company and I completely agree with the name 5 Star! more

Professional, respectful of my time, efficient 3/5/2011

I just wanted to say that the 4 movers you sent to our house were professional, quick, hard working and very respectful. They knew that we wanted to just get as much as they could get done in less than 6 hours and they kicked their packing into high gear. They had a plan and they split up into the most needed areas then knocked it out. They never complained and only took a very short break the whole time. Thank you for your service. more

Great service, friendly movers and excellent care! 10/4/2010

Brian and Chris moved our belongings from our basement level apartment to our new home in a different city. I couldn't believe how careful they were and what knowledge they had in the best way to prevent scratches, broken glass, dents and other damage. I truly believe they took better care of our furniture and irreplaceable belongings than we even would have if we had moved everything ourselves! What made the experience for us even better was that Brian and Chris were very friendly and moved all of our belongings with a smile. Respectful, considerate, on-time and absolutely the best and hardest working movers we have had! We would recommend Chris and Brian again to anyone, anytime! more

Absolutely The Best 9/25/2010

They were at our location on time, worked very quickly, and were very professional. There were no surprises. I would use them again without hesitation more

Professional for the most part. Prepared, smart working, hard working crews, both days. 9/7/2010

The ONLY negative is that perhaps my washing machine wasn't blanketed or protected in some way in the truck or in moving it. There are several huge, deep scratches on the bottom of the front of the washing machine in the enamel that were definately not there before they moved the washing machine. I will have to have it painted so it will not rust. Other than that, most of the experience went fairly smoothly. more
< Previous 1 2 Next >
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use year15 at checkout. Expires 9/30/2018

Additional information

  • Neighborhoods:

    West Colorado Springs