JavaScript is not enabled.
Soho Food Drinks & Jazz - Dallas, TX - Reviews page 1 - Judysbook

Soho Food Drinks & Jazz

Claim
marker
5290 Belt Line Rd
Dallas, TX 75254
marker
(972) 490-8686
Incorrect info? Correct your listing

Photos

Soho Food Drinks & Jazz - Dallas, TX

Reviews

( 2 )
( 2 )
( 0 )
( 1 )
( 4 )

Best

I'm SO pleased with my recent visit, last Thursday night, to SOHO! My date really chose well - the romantic ambience was perfect & the service was great as well. The ambience, esp...

Worst

My friends and I wanted to listen to some jazz, have dinner, and drinks. The food was WAY over priced. We left hungry, and very dissatisfied. The service was HORRIBLE!!!!! Our...

Disappointing Experience 12/16/2009

I ate at Soho for the first time two nights ago and found myself rather disappointed. The service was inconsistent -- we had three different waiters, none of whom ever waited long enough to hear if someone else at the table wanted something additional, and so we were waiting for waiters most of our meal. We also ended up having to go GET a waiter when we were ready to have the check after waiting an unreasonable amount of time for at least one of the three to return. The restaurant was neither full nor particularly busy, so the lack of service was inexplicable. When any of the waiters -were- at the table, they were friendly and courteous, but their attentiveness was an issue. The preceding was at least forgivable -- the worst part was that I had a baby roach in my water glass. When I alerted one of our three waiters, he appeared at first skeptical and then unconcerned. I didn't even get so much as an ""I'm so sorry."" He just said, ""Well, we don't want -that-!"" and only brought me a fresh glass, with no apology before or after. I expected that some further effort would be made to make up for this -- I might not be totally surprised by a roach in my water glass at a fast food chain, but I was shocked to find one in a glass at what is supposed to be a higher end restaurant. I did not ask to speak to a manager while I was there, simply because I was stunned by the poor reaction to this problem, and I honestly felt that I should not have HAD to ask for reparations to made; they should have been made automatically, without me needing to make a scene or show of complaining on the spot. Neither I nor my friends, who were previously fans of Soho, will likely be soon to return if at all. My experience has left a bad and buggy taste in my mouth. Furthermore, when I sent a message near identical to my review above to the restaurant concerning my experience, I got a lukewarm response from the manager, saying he would ""make up hopefully on [my] next visit."" Pros: nice food, inexpensive wine, friendly/courteous staff Cons: roach in water glass? more

TOTAL RIP-OFF 2/15/2009

Total rip off. I took my wife here for Valentine's Day. They offered a three-course $65pp V-Day menu and had a live jazz trio playing. The musicians were great and got tipped accordingly. The service was horrible, however. They brought me the wrong entree, and were not timely or attentive (plus they stole money from us, but I'll get into that later). My wife ordered a vegetarian plate. The waitress claimed they would make her something special with different vegetables on it. What she got was a scoop of mid-level prepared risotto with a few cut up tomatoes. I ordered the roast chicken dish and was brought a salmon plate. To drink we ordered $7/glass pinot grigio. The desserts were overcooked and/or dry and uninspired. In the end, they charged us $10/glass of wine and $3.50 for the coffee we drank with the desserts.\r \r When the bill came the total was $211 for food we could have easily done a better job making at home. This bill included an 18% tip we were obliged to pay but the waitstaff did very little to earn. This morning the bank statement reflects a $254 charge, so someone obviously added an extra $43 charge. This place has horrible service, mediocre food and conducts their business dishonestly. It should not only not be frequented, but the city of Addison would be better off if it were bulldozed and replaced with a chilis. Pros: The jazz musicians they brought in were very good. Cons: The food was not great, the service was awful, and they stole from us. more

Exceptional Food, Service & Live Music! 11/24/2008

I'm SO pleased with my recent visit, last Thursday night, to SOHO! My date really chose well - the romantic ambience was perfect & the service was great as well. The ambience, especially with the live jazz, can make you feel like you're in New Orleans or New York. Our server was very helpful & knowledgeable & didn't hover which allowed great conversation at our table. The food was exceptional - definitely held up to everything great that I'd heard. We had the calamari steak appetizer - yummy, and then I had the Ahi Tuna which was devine & my date had the Tilapia which was so good & so flaky - melted in your mouth. We also had a bottle of a Shiraz which went really well with our meal. I'll be back to try their Tapas Menu soon. Then the jazz started up a little later - wow - what a perfect evening - we will be back again & again - yes the date went very well! Thank you SOHO - everything was exceptional - you have new repeat patrons! Pros: Romantic yet Lively, Live Jazz, Awesome Ahi Tuna more

Horrible Experience 4/17/2008

A group of friends and I decided to go to SOHO after our fraternities initiation. Upon arrival we realized that our large group of 30 was shoved into a tiny corner of the resturaunt. We then realiazed one server was assigned to us even though we called three days in advance to make arrangements and give a head count. Our service was horrible. I had to send two drinks back twice and I was still charged for them. Individuals who ordered several courses had them served out of order, and when bringing us our food it was as if we were at a cattle call. ""Who had the_____?"" And this was coming from a ""5 Star Resturaunt."" Not to mention every person in our group was charged ten to twelve dollars more than we signed for. When our president called the manager the following Monday he was arrogant and would not attempt to find a solution with her. He finally called back and told her that our gratuity charges would be taken off our tickets but said nothing about the overcharge. Even though we recieved horrible service the food was wonderful and the drinks that were made correctly were delightful, however I would never return. Pros: good food and drinks Cons: horrible service from server and manager more

I think Soho is romantic and lively 9/5/2007

I went on my first date with my now fiance at Soho about 3 years ago. The tapas menu was delicious and the band played a saxophone version of Ribbon in the Sky which is now our song (and will be our first dance song at our wedding). We are an interracial couple (I am an interracial gal) and we never experienced any kind of prejudice. I've been several times and I love going to Soho. more

Great vibes! 8/16/2007

I was really shocked to see the reviews listed here! I date interacially, and Soho is one of my primary hangouts. The staff is always very attentive, and never once have I ever experienced prejudice or disrespect. The crowd here is always a great mix. The music is relaxing. The drinks aren't watered down, and the menu (unless you are cheap) is reasonable for the quality you get. One of my favorites! more

VERY PREJUDICE!!!! ARROGANT, PATHETIC.....AND EXTREMELY RUDE!!!! 7/7/2007

While attempting to enter the restaurant, SOHO's employess's looked at my friends and I up and down then managed to completely alienate us thoughout the whole evening. On the way out, we over heard management say a disgusting racial remark towards my black and spanish friend. I would not advise anybody to come here to enjoy your evening. Pros: 00 more

Horrible Service/Overpriced! 7/4/2007

My friends and I wanted to listen to some jazz, have dinner, and drinks. The food was WAY over priced. We left hungry, and very dissatisfied. The service was HORRIBLE!!!!! Our waitress was never around, except when she wanted to get her tip and cash us out. We had to keep finding other people to wait on us. The drinks were a pretty good price. They have a happy hour. And if you are looking for a place to have a couple of drinks and listen to some music in a place where you can't hear the music because people are so loud, then this is the place for you. Pros: Good price on drinks Cons: Bad price on everything else more

Best Romantic Atmosphere and food. 9/15/2006

This place is very nice, relaxed atmosphere with wonderful food and jazz music. I enjoyed my time there and would recommend this restaurant for a nice date night to relax, eat, and sip wine. \r ENJOY! Pros: dimmed lights for the romantic feel, jazz music, and delicious food. Cons: the place isn't big so on busy nights dinner isn't very private. more
< Previous 1 Next >

Menu for Soho Food Drinks & Jazz




HOLIDAY DISCOUNT :
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use YEAR15 at checkout. Expires 12/31/2016

Editorial

  • Casual Addison restaurant features live jazz, fine dining with gourmet seafood dishes and a climate-controlled patio for happy hour.

  • 6/23/2005 Provided by Citysearch

Additional information

  • Payments:

    American Express, Visa, Discover, Master Card

Best Deals and Recommendations