JavaScript is not enabled.
Smog-It - Santa Barbara, CA - Reviews page 1 - Judysbook


502 E Haley St
Santa Barbara, CA 93103
(805) 335-1518
Incorrect info? Correct your listing


Smog-It - Santa Barbara, CA


( 1 )
( 0 )
( 0 )
( 1 )
( 6 )


SmogIT always works quickly and efficiently to smog my vehicles - I've never had a problem with them. Pros: Efficient Cons: Very Busy at Times


failed smog test due to engine service light friend says that they should have not wasted time and my money on test when that light is on. two vehicles in front of me too...

DON'T GO HERE! 1/21/2012

These guys are horrible! I wish I could give them zero stars. They don't even deserve 1 star. Pros: null Cons: null more

Expert SCAM artists! DO NOT USE SMOG-IT !!! 2/23/2011

These guys failed my car on a smog-test purely on a visual-inspection. I knew for a fact that my car was exempt from needing a certain part due to the way the intake-plumbing was routed (an '86 turbo). I suggested they look up the inspection points in the book for that model and go through it line-by-line. They refused and told me I would have to pay them $1200 to have the car "repaired" so that I would pass the visual-inspection. Bullocks! more

DONT EVER GO TO SMOG IT!!!! 8/11/2010

So I called to see if i could use some coupons i found online and the person that i was speaking to was very rude. I asked what time they closed and they said 5:30pm. I arrived at 4:35pm I saw three lanes, which two of them were closed. One of them was being smog. So I park next to it. The tech saw me but tried to look away to avoid me. I walk in and see NO ONE AT THE COUNTER. I look to see if anyone can give me service. I saw a gentlemen at a distance but runs and hides. So i'm waiting patiently until he pops out (which was about 4:40pm)he said "How Can I Help You" I said I'm here to get a smog. Then he said we're closed. I look at my watch 4:42pm you got to be kidding me. He said I only got one tech. And saids "we open tomorrow @ 7:30 walks away. Doesn't even say SORRY or Apologizes. TOTAL BAD CONSTUMER SERVICE!!!DONT GOOD HERE!!!! TAKE YOUR CAR SOMEWHERE ELSE BESIDES HERE!!! NOT A FRIENDLY STAFF!!!! more

SmogIT is GREAT 7/9/2010

SmogIT always works quickly and efficiently to smog my vehicles - I've never had a problem with them. Pros: Efficient Cons: Very Busy at Times more

Rip-Off Con Men 3/25/2009

I took my old car to be smogged for the first time since it is about 5 years old and the DMV required it to renew my registration this time. My check engine light was on which he saw right when arrived because I saw him glance at it twice, but I didn't think it was a problem and though he would tell me if it was. In the lobby I heard 3 different people quoted ridiculous repair costs to make their cars pass smog also, and the workers made it sound like it took rocket science to diagnose and fix each of their problems. I know a little about repairing cars since I have helped my friends rebuild and fix a few pickup trucks, cars, a $80K Shelby Cobra show car, and a $100K+ turbo Supra from Fast And The Furious, I'm just not really familiar with smogging a car because I was too lazy to research it before going to a smog shop. After an hour a guy hooked up my car to the machines and another hour later he took my money and at the very end (he made sure it was after I paid him because he said "Let me ring you up first, then we can go over the details." when I began to question him about it) told me it didn't pass because of the check engine light. He said it would cost between $400-$800 to fix it before it could be re-tested. He said "First it will cost about $160 for the problems to be diagnosed because we have to run it though a series of tests on our computers. We have to do that to be sure what the problems are or we can't fix anything. Then it will cost about $400-$600 to fix the problems depending on how many things are wrong with it. It will take about 2 days to gather the necessary parts to fix the problems so you might cost more if we have to keep it another day. " I left and did what I should have done in the first place instead of being lazy and paying someone to fix my car for me...I looked on the internet for my car's computer's error codes and found out what the problem really was. I spent 5 mins of internet research to see what the 2 error codes meant, 20 min round trip to a local auto parts store to buy a $45 part that was in stock and easily available (they actually had 6 in stock), and 10 mins to replace the part myself. Instead of the quoted $600-$800+, I spent $45 to do it myself. This proves they were intentionally trying to rip me off since they said they would have to fix and replace multiple parts and pay for 2 days of labor when they already knew what those simple computer error codes meant. I took it back for a "free re-test" that they advertise and it passed the smog this time, but I WILL NEVER RETURN THESE SCAMMERS AGAIN, AND YOU SHOULDN'T EITHER!!! Pros: They seemed to be friendly but are just good at conning you. Cons: They quoted and perform very expensive, unnecessary repairs more

Padded the Bill 3/2/2009

I've used them a few times but won't go back. Last time I used them they failed my Mazda and told me they'd have to replace a part for it to pass. They quoted over $500 for the job. It just didn't feel right so I took it to another smog station I'd used before. That mechanic said that Smog It had run a test they didn't have to for certification of that make and year, but that since they had and the car failed it it was in the computer system and the DMV would require the fix. I took it to my regular mechanic and he charged me $235 for the part and labor. Seemed like an intentional hustle to me... Pros: none Cons: unethical more

Don't smog your car at Smog it 11/11/2008

Complete Fraud. I took my daughters car in to be smogged, unknown to me the check engine light was on and i was not aware that they should not have even tried to smog the car until the engine was checked. They tried to smog the car, it failed. I was told they needed to diagnose the problem in a different bay and the cost to finnish would be about $150. Little did I know that what they were doing was a diagnostic test that would only tell us what the problem was, not fix it. They charged me $150 to tell me what was wrong with the car and told me it would be an additional $1200 to fix it. My daughter suggested I take it to VW to have a second opinion. This is when I found out not only did I have to pay for the smog that was not done but also had to pay $150 for their diagnosis. There is no way I would have ever agreed to pay $150 for them to diagnose the car. VW only charges additional $$ when you don't use them for fixing the problem, I knew this. I paid the now $215 to get the car back, did not have the smog done and went to get the second opinion. VW informed me that the smog test was a guarenteed fail with the check engine light on and it should not have been tested first of all. They discovered one problem out of the 3 Smog-it said was at issue and the total was only $800. This company is completely and totally unethical. My family of of 7 with 6 cars will never go to this establishment again. I discovered this site looking for another establishment for one of our cars that has to be smogged today. Hopefully you will go elsewhere too. Cons: Unethical practices more

less than ethical practice 5/2/2008

failed smog test due to engine service light friend says that they should have not wasted time and my money on test when that light is on. two vehicles in front of me took over 1 hr out if you see older vehicles being tested...usually they will be doing repair work which takes a lot of time. retest is $12 more than the initial $51 fee for a car. check their website for a $5 coupon smogitsantabarbara Cons: not informative as to time and procedures more
< Previous 1 Next >
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use YEAR15 at checkout. Expires 11/30/2016

Stop In For A Quick 10 Minute Auto Emissions Test, No Appt. Necessary!

Owner Message

  • <ul><br><li>Check Engine Light</li><br><li>No Appointment Necessary</li><br></ul>

Additional information

  • Hours:

    Mon 08:00 AM-05:00 PM;Tue 08:00 AM-05:00 PM;Wed 08:00 AM-05:00 PM;Thu 08:00 AM-05:00 PM;Fri 08:00 AM-05:00 PM;Sat 08:00 AM-02:00 PM
  • Payments:

    Master Card, Visa
  • Neighborhoods:

    Lower East

Best Deals and Recommendations