The John Jay French Museum is operated by the Beaumont Heritage Society. It's located on French Road, which is off Delaware near the Eastex Freeway. The museum is in Beaumont's oldest house that's still standing and was built in 1845. The house has many claims, such as being the first 2-story house, the first painted house and the first built with lumber from a sawmill. It's furnished with period pieces and is a fun experience for those who are interested in history. Family events are held throughout the year, and summer camp-type days for children offer many interesting activities. It costs only $3 for adults and $1 for students.