JavaScript is not enabled.
Brea's Smog Test Only - Brea, CA - Reviews page 1 - Judysbook

Brea's Smog Test Only

Claim
marker
815 S Brea Blvd
Brea, CA 92821
marker
(714) 529-5400
Incorrect info? Correct your listing

Photos

Brea's Smog Test Only - Brea, CA
Brea's Smog Test Only - Brea, CA
Brea's Smog Test Only - Brea, CA

Reviews

( 2 )
( 1 )
( 1 )
( 1 )
( 2 )

Best

I really liked that I could renew my registration and get the smog done at the same time, the service was fast and when I got confused about how the registration paperwork is done...

Worst

Do you need a smog test? This place is for you if you need a quick smog test. The service is done in minutes not hours, unless there is a long line. But usually, there isn't a ...

No frills- quick, easy, simple 8/5/2009

I really liked that I could renew my registration and get the smog done at the same time, the service was fast and when I got confused about how the registration paperwork is done, the guy explained it all to me. I did check out reviews of this place before I went and although the comments were mixed- I personally had a great experience, the guy who did the smog was polite and got it all done in a timely manner. I also liked that the waiting area was clean and cool- because most auto places are usually kind of gross. The prices seemed totally fair and comparable to other places in the area. The huge yellow van outside is pretty funny- but makes it easy to find! I told my Mom to come here because last time she got a smog she spent hours doing it at the DMV. more

BEST AROUND 8/3/2009

Really helpful, great customer servic- Andy took care of my 2001 Subaru Legacy in good time and renewed my registration without any problems. I have tried other places in the neighborhood but come back here because of the honest service. Highly Recommended. more

Don't Go Here 1/7/2006

My son took his 1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee to this place. His Jeep passed all tests except the On-Board Diagnostics (OBD) computer scan. He was told that the battery must have been disconnected during a recent oil change. He was instructed to drive the vehicle for at least 50 miles and return. A retest would cost him about 18 dollars. Upon learning of this, we immediately took the vehicle to another smog testing shop in town, and the vehicle passed all tests without incident. We then checked with local auto mechanics, and gained valuable knowledge which we wish had had before going to Brea's Smog Test Only. We also checked Judy's Book (again after going to this place) and read Robert C's comments of 11/25/05. Makes one wonder, doesn't it? We revisited Brea's Smog Test Only and requested a refund, but were refused. We will very likely file a formal complaint, given what we now know. We do not recommend this business at all. more

DO NOT GO HERE 11/25/2005

I have a 1997 luxury sedan. My car passed all tests except for the OBD-II (On-Board Diagnostics) computer scan. The shop owner told me that the sensors that monitored the car were not initializing properly and I would have to get my computer fixed and do a retest ($18). As a precursory measure, he told me to drive the car for fifty miles and then come back to see if the computer had reset its memory. I did this the same day and he again said that it failed to initialize. I took my car to an acquaintance who does auto work and hooked up his OBD-II scanner to my car's computer. Amazingly, the monitors DID initialize and indicated that there was a clog in my EGR valve, which means that the computer was working fine. After the EGR valve was cleaned, all monitors passed the ODB-II scan. There was, however, never an indication that the computer was faulty. When I went back to get a retest, I told the owner that I had done an OBD-II scan and that the monitors initialized and indicated a single error. He got extremely defensive and told me that I must be wrong. I reiterated what I had said before and he shook his head and wagged his finger at me, insisting that my computer was broken. Well, perhaps my computer was broken at the time of the test and then magically restored itself in a matter of hours, but I find that highly unlikely. I will refrain from any undue accusations, but the least I can say is that the OBD-II scanner at this shop is either broken or inaccurate. I will never go to this shop again. more

Smog test 9/12/2005

Do you need a smog test? This place is for you if you need a quick smog test. The service is done in minutes not hours, unless there is a long line. But usually, there isn't a long line, so it's done really quickly. Sometimes you can find their ad with coupon, that can be very helpful for the price. But it's always good to have faster service. more

Brea's Smog Test Only: A Pass 8/11/2005

Brea's Smog Test Only is a great place to get your car checked for smog. They do a great job in taking good care of your car. They did not wreck my car like the other auto repair place. The mechanics knew what they were doing. The mechanics are experienced and knowledgeable in their field of work. They also spoke proper English. more

quick service 8/5/2005

We recently took our car in to get a smog check. It was the first time we had to do this on our own, our parents' always took care of it for us before our marriage. It was definitely the quickest trip to an automotive place that I have ever had. They were also really friendly...something I'm not used to from a lot of the greasy automotive people we unfortunately have to deal with when our cars break down. I'm not always excited to take my car in to the shop, but this experience was surprisingly positive. We can't recommend it more if you need a smog check in the Brea area! more
< Previous 1 Next >
CYBERWEEK:
50% OFF all yearly plans
Use CYBERWEEK at checkout. Expires 12/4/2016

Owner Message

  • Test Only,Auto Registration

Additional information

  • Hours:

    Mon-Fri 8am-6pm ; Sat 8am-4pm ; Sun 9am-1pm
  • Neighborhoods:

    Brea-Olinda

Best Deals and Recommendations