JavaScript is not enabled.
Around the Town Car Service - Portland, OR - Reviews page 1 - Judysbook

Around the Town Car Service

Claim
marker
1425 NE 7th Ave (at Northeast Clackmas Street)
Portland, OR 97232
marker
(503) 228-9137
Incorrect info? Correct your listing

Photos

Around the Town Car Service - Portland, OR

Reviews

( 21 )
( 0 )
( 0 )
( 1 )
( 4 )

Best

My company loves Inna and her team at Around the Town. The people are always courteous and very helpful, and make every effort to go the extra mile. We continue to use Around th...

Worst

To start, on Friday night I receive multiple phone calls stating the driver was not able to find my house. I called back and let them know that they were one day early, my reserva...

Editorial review from Citysearch 10/19/2012

Used Around the Town since 2007, normally prompt and courteous, but on our last trip they sent us a smelly taxi instead of a towncar, without notice, and tried to charge us $60 for the ride claiming they did us a favor because our flight was late and it was busy (on a Tuesday, at PDX, uhh sure ...) So after a four-hour flight delay (not their fault) with my wife and two tired little kids I get taken for a ride by Around the Town.\r \r A simple ""We're sorry, because your flight was late and our cars are broken down we cannot help you"" would have sufficed ... but no, a beat taxi-van that smelled awful is what we got instead. Really classy, Inna.\r \r What's more, they raised their rates w/o notification ... $85 from NE Portland to PDX? You have to be kidding.\r \r Don't waste your time with these guys ... they used to have class. Not anymore. more

This guy Brandon bought a refrigerator 2/10/2012

This guy Brandon bought a refrigerator from me and wrote a bad check. When I called him several times, he kept promising me he would straighten it out., he finally told me to call his lawyer. His lawyer told me he was in bankruptcy, like its OK to write bad checks as long as your'e broke. Then he has the nerve to slam my business Mr. Appliance for not wanted to honor the warranty on the refrigerator. Ken West owner of Mr. Appliance more

Wonderful people and great organization 11/18/2009

My company loves Inna and her team at Around the Town. The people are always courteous and very helpful, and make every effort to go the extra mile. We continue to use Around the Town because of their hard work and ability to make everything run smoothly for us. Whether it's an easy drive or a complicated itinerary, they are always delighted to provide the best possible services. Pros: Best customer service more

Reliable, Professional, Friendly, Affordable 9/28/2009

Our family needed a large vehicle to take us to the airport at 5 a.m., and Brandon from ""Around the Town"" arrived on-time with a large SUV and trailer to haul our things. He was very professional and friendly, and we were extremely satisfied with our experience with ""Around the Town"". We highly recommend this company to those looking for a reliable and professional car company. Amanda/Roman Vega Pros: Great price for service provided more

Exceptional Service! 9/10/2009

We took the Barfly bus to Mt. Angel Oktoberfest - big mistake! Bus was running late, then got lost. Long story short, by the time we got to Oktoberfest we had only 2.5 hours before we had to be back on the bus to Portland. So since we wanted to stay longer but had no way back to Portland, I called Brendan at Around the Town. Even though it was last minute and in Mt. Angel, Vladi was able to come pick us up and drop us back in Portland. Around the Town continues to be professional, friendly and at a very reasonable cost. I highly recommend them! Pros: professional, fun more

Wonderful Experience 7/5/2009

Brandon Sofge was wonderful to work with. He showed up on time and had everything ready that I had asked for. I requested pictures of the Hummer, and it was clean, comfortable and exactly as the pictures showed, no stock pictures. There were no surprise exspenses and he was up front with all my charges. The event was was for my daughters 16th birthday and he helped with all the details. On the day of the event he told me we had not used up all the time and recommended a local ice cream store to stop at on the way home. Pros: I would use them again more

Precise Transportation 1/20/2009

I recently moved to Portland from New York and it was challenging to find a town car company with precise service delivery standards.. My schedule is fast pace and I needed a company that can keep up with it. I challenged Around the Town and they blew me away with their flexibility, reliability and knowledge of what needs to be done when it comes to working with business people. Pros: Reliable, competitively priced, connected, English speaking drivers, diverse fleet Cons: they have one silver car, I prefer all black more

Think again before you use Around the Town - they lost my business 1/2/2009

I used this company several times in the past and was satisfied with the service. They were more expensive than many of the companies around town, and the fact that I got an automated phone service when I called that almost always required me to leave a message has always been an issue.\r \r However, this last experience on 12/23 was TERRIBLE. I was trying to get a ride to the airport during the storm - left a message on their voicemail as prompted, never got a call back. After call 10 times 4 hours later, I finally managed to get a person who told me she was creating the schedule for the next day and would call me within one hour to let me know if they could give me a ride. I NEVER got a call back! I even left them another message - still no call.\r \r I will never use this company again. \r \r Cons: automated phone service that requires you leave a message, terrible customer service, overpriced more

Use Around the Town when the weather gets bad 12/29/2008

I was supposed to catch a 7am flight during the crazy snow/ice storms that Portland recently endured. They were calling for freezing rain the morning I had to leave, so I called two cab companies and a town car service (two days in advance), and none of them would allow me to make a reservation. They told me to call an hour before I needed them to see if they could make it. I couldn't imagine leaving it up to chance like that. Pros: Able to drive in snowy weather! more

""Best Town Car Company"" 11/12/2008

\r Arrived from Phoenix late on sunday night, promptly got a call on the way to baggage claim from the driver(Shelly) letting me know she was at ""island three"". Shelly was friendly without being intrusive, the car was very clean & quiet, even bottled water & mints. I will surely use them again. Pros: overall excellent experience Cons: ? more

Rarely... 7/16/2008

\r ...do I take the time to write a review. However, my three experience's with this town car company have been ""exceptional"", from arriving & calling ahead of schedule to handling bags to negotiating surface streets to avoid a I-5 accident and make my plane on time. Traveling for business is difficult , so when you find a transportation company that ""get's it"" I have to pass it along. more

Spotless and Classy 7/15/2008

Boy, after reading the last review I felt bad for not expressing my wonderful experience with this company. I reserved a town car for my son's first prom experience in May of this year. The driver was professional, personable, on time, came to our door and made me feel very comfortable. The car was spotless and classy. After the prom the driver was exactly where he said he would be at the time he said he would be there. I will be using them and recommending them anytime I have the chance. Thanks Around the Town, you put a nervous Mom at ease. Pros: A great service for a great price more

Addressing our Service 7/4/2008

I wanted to take a moment to address the feedback by Joshua. I was very sad to learn about his experience. \r I believe our staff is one of the finest in the city. We truly care about our guests and their needs. After speaking with the reservationist that handled your call, I agree that feeling like you were not receiving our full attention was warrented. That Friday was exceptionally busy and we should have had an additional staff member on duty to handle the call volume we were experiencing. \r Next, during the reservation, we discussed the challenges with your housing complex. The address did not validate and the units are not sequentially numbered. However, we arrived early on both occassions and made repeated calls to your cell phone requesting verification as to which set of dumpsters your unit was adjecent to.\r I'm glad to hear that Troy, your second chauffeur on the return Saturday, delivered the type of service we pride ourselves on, and that I want each one of our guests to experience. \r Your first trip on Saturday was exceptionally below par. We unfortunately found it necessary to ""farm out"" (or have another company perform service on our behalf) that evening. While we make every effort to work with others that represent the same level of quality and service that we do, it did not succeed in this instance.\r After your trip, I made multiple efforts to contact you to discuss your experience and collect payment. After noticing this review yesterday I felt moved to respond. Since all of our reviews here are 100% from guests who hae experienced our service, I wanted to show our sincere desire to make things right. We track our service issues here at Around the Town and are very happy to say they average only 1 out of every 212 trips. Most are very minor and we enjoy a very strong relationship with our guests. I hope that you will consider giving us an additional chance and you are welcome to call and ask for Brandon directly.\r Thank you for your feedback. Pros: 24 Hour Service, Clean Cars, Great Drivers more

50/50 chance of a clean car 6/8/2008

To start, on Friday night I receive multiple phone calls stating the driver was not able to find my house. I called back and let them know that they were one day early, my reservations were for the following night. They checked my address and it was listed incorrectly, hence why they were not able to find my place. The man on the phone changed the reservation and insured me a car would pick us up the following night. The car that picked us up was NOT what I expected. I asked for tinted windows and was told it would not be a problem. The car we had not only didn't have tinted windows but it had dirty windows. The seats were not clean and the car was not vacuumed and looked like it had not been cleaned out in some time. The windshield was cracked, there was an old newspaper in the pocket of the backseat and gum in the ashtray. Needless to say, I was NOT happy. I had done this as a surprise for our two year anniversary and felt like I had been ripped off. I have been in cleaner cabs! When I spoke to the woman on the phone she said to ""call 20 minutes before you are ready to leave the restaurant and the car will be waiting."" I tried, but it took 4 phone calls to get their dispatcher to pick up the phone. I was then told he would be there in seven minutes. After 10 minutes we walked outside and there was no car. Another 10 minutes later the car finally arrived.\r Now for the positive; the car that picked us up after was MUCH nicer. It was what I expected, clean, with water and mints. The windows were clean and tinted, there was no garbage in the ashtray and the floors were vacuumed. This is the only thing that saved this review from being a total bomb. At this point I will NOT be recommending Around the Town Car Service to any of my friends or using it myself, it is just too much of chance to take on a special occasion. From looking at the reviews 2006 was a good year, I am not sure what was changed, but I would go back to the old way of doing things! Pros: Second car was clean and driver was nice Cons: First car was very dirty second clean, came on the wrong day, one driver on time, one late. more

Best ever Cinderellas Pumpkin! 4/23/2007

Brandon made it happen for my 50th BD! Long story-short, if it wern't for this limo service, I'd have been in one huge fight with my darling husband for cancelling this limo service right before my BD. But between Brandon and my husband they pulled it off so I could be driven around town in style for my 50th BD and not have to worry about anything :)\r \r can't wait for the next event that I get to use them for...wine tasting anyone? :) Pros: Best service in town and Brandon is like a personal tour guide and the drivers are really polite! more

Terrible avoid !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 2/5/2007

\r \r Booked a car the night before to the airport. \r They called me 10 minutes before they were \r suppose to show up and cancelled. When I asked\r why they said they had problems with the car they \r were sending and could not sent another. this put me \r in a really bad situation since I needed to be to the airport \r in 30 minutes to check in. I would avoid this company they \r are not reliable and hace bad customer service. more

Stranded for an airport ride 9/17/2006

Left my husband stranded at 5:30am who had an appointment for a ride to the airport (KIND OF IMPORTANT AND TIME SENSITIVE!). Not only unreliable, but extrememly expensive. Try another company! Cons: expensive and didn't show up more

Top Notch 7/16/2006

I have taken many sightseeing tours during my business travels and have never taken the time to write a review on any of them until today. Around the Town Car Service was top notch. Nice, clean, vehicle with a knowledgeable, friendly driver that showed up exactly on time. Provided me with a fantastic tour of the Oregon / Washington coast - didn't mind that I wanted pictures and he knew exactly where to go to get the good ones. The driver was perceptive and knew how to choose the right restaurant for my dinner tastes. The tour was a wonderful experience and I highly recommend using their services if you are in the area. Pros: Customized, personalized service; driving skills; knew how to make the tour enjoyable Cons: n/a more

Very good Town car Company 4/6/2006

Ride was at the airport on time with a sign in the window, took my luggage and i got mints and water, took about a half hour ride in a very comfortable car. Got dropped off at my business and picked back up in a timely manner to go back to the airport. They were on top of everything even though my flight was late and one of the bridges was closed. Would highly suggest this business to anyone looking to go somewhere Pros: friendly, on time, reliable more

You may have just about saved my marriage 3/10/2006

I am not sure if you are going to get this but thank you so much Around the Town Car service. Your fast and friendly very quick service allowed me to get to the airport to fly out to see my mother before she past. I have no way of getting around on my own and the Taxi service could not get a car out to me in time. Your driver made it here and got me to the airport in minutes with my family emergency. I am very greatful and i will ever reccomend your service Pros: fast, friendly, Efficient Cons: cannot think of one more
< Previous 1 2 Next >
HOLIDAY DISCOUNT :
15% OFF all yearly plans
Use YEAR15 at checkout. Expires 12/31/2016

Editorial

  • Drivers pick-up and drop-off clients in limousines, passenger vans and Lincoln Towncars for special occasions, shuttle transportation or any reason.

  • 2/10/2006 Provided by Citysearch

Additional information

  • Hours:

    24 hours
  • Payments:

    Master Card, Visa, American Express, Discover
  • Neighborhoods:

    Lloyd District

Best Deals and Recommendations